MembershipUPDATE

people emerge from an airplane in 78 seconds? No, we didn't think so ... unless you were in Hamburg, Germany, last March or at the 59th annual International Air Safety Seminar in Paris, October 23–26. Attendees saw a video of the Airbus A380 evacuation trial — one of many interesting presentations.

ave you ever watched 873

By all accounts, the seminar was a huge success. More than 450 delegates from 53 countries attended. Flight Safety Foundation and its co-presenters, International Federation of Airworthiness and International Air Transport Association, would like to particularly thank this year's host committee for making the seminar possible:

Aer Lingus

Air France

Airbus

ATR

Aviation Safety Alliance

CFM

Dassault Aviation

DGAC

EADS

Eurocontrol

Eurocopter

GIFAS

Hamilton Sundstrand

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Rockwell Collins

Safran

Snecma

Swiss International Air Lines

TAP Portugal

TOTAL

During the IASS, Flight Safety Foundation and International Federation of Airworthiness presented awards to outstanding individuals and companies who have made the aviation industry safer. They were:

FSF President's Citation

Hans Almér, Saab Aircraft AB (retired)

Susan Coughlin, Member, Board of Governors, Flight Safety Foundation

Capt. Alex de Silva, Singapore Airlines

Dmitry Kiva, General Designer, Antonov Design Bureau

Vladimir Kofman, Flight Safety Foundation International

Anatoly Kolisnyk, Chairman, SAA of Ukraine

Capt. Dan Maurino, International Civil Aviation Organization

Valery Shelkovnikov, Flight Safety Foundation International

James Terpstra, Jeppesen (retired)

Edward R. Williams, The Metropolitan Aviation Group

Richard Teller Crane Founder's Award

Embraer

Flight Safety Foundation-Boeing Aviation Safety Lifetime Achievement Award

Minister Yang Yuanyuan, General Administration of Civil Aviation of China

FSF Airport Safety Award

Airports Council International



Flight Safety Foundation-Airbus Human Factors in Aviation Safety Award

R. Curtis Graeber, Ph.D., Boeing Commercial Airplanes

Admiral Luis de Florez Flight Safety Award

J. Kenneth Higgins, Boeing Commercial Airplanes

FSF Cecil A. Brownlow Publication Award

Larry Pynn, Vancouver Sun

The Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award

Don Bateman, Honeywell

IFA Whittle Award

Stuart Matthews, Flight Safety Foundation

Grande Médaille d'Or de l'Aéro-Club de France

Stuart Matthews, Flight Safety Foundation

If you would like more information on the Flight Safety Foundation award program, please visit our Internet site: <www.flightsafety.org/awards.html>.•

> Ann Hill, director, membership and development, Flight Safety Foundation