Tell us who deserves an award for advancing aviation safety.

Call for Nominations

The Flight Safety Foundation annual safety awards recognize outstanding individual and group achievements. Recipients of these prestigious awards, nominated by aviation professionals and organizations worldwide, are selected by independent boards.

The following awards are being presented at Honeywell's Press Dinner at the Farnborough International Airshow, July 12, 2008:

The Honeywell Bendix Trophy for Aviation Safety was re-established in 1998 by AlliedSignal (which later merged with Honeywell) to recognize contributions to aerospace safety by individuals or institutions through innovation in advanced safety equipment and equipment utilization.

The nominating deadline is April 21, 2008.

The Aviation Week & Space Technology
Distinguished Service Award — the oldest of the Foundation's awards — has
been sponsored since 1949 by Aviation
Week & Space Technology and is administered by the Foundation.

The award is presented for "distinguished service in achieving safer utilization of aircraft." It was the brainchild of Jerry Lederer, the founder of Flight Safety Foundation and a pioneer in aviation safety.

The nominating deadline is April 21, 2008.

The following awards will be presented at the 61st International Air Safety Seminar in Honolulu, Hawaii, October 27–30, 2008:

The Flight Safety Foundation–Boeing
Aviation Safety Lifetime Achievement
Award recognizes an individual for his
or her lifetime commitment and contribution to enhancing aviation safety.

Nominees should have devoted efforts spanning two decades or more to enhance civil aviation safety and/or military aviation safety beyond the normal expectations of their particular job assignments. Nominations can be posthumous.

The nominating deadline is May 9, 2008.

The Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety

Award recognizes notable achievement in the field of aviation safety — civil or military — in method, design, invention, study or other improvement.

The award's recipient is selected for a "significant individual or group effort contributing to improving aviation safety, with emphasis on original contributions," and a "significant individual or group effort performed above and beyond normal responsibilities."

The nominating deadline is May 9, 2008.

Presented since 1966, the Admiral Luis de Florez Flight Safety Award recognizes "outstanding individual contributions to aviation safety, through basic design, device or practice."

A retired U.S. Navy admiral and a Foundation president in the mid-1950s, de Florez was influential in the development of early flight simulators. He received the 1943 Collier Trophy — one of the most prestigious awards for aeronautical achievement in the United States — for his work in training combat pilots and flight crews.

The nominating deadline is May 9, 2008.

The Cecil A. Brownlow Publications

Award was first presented in 1968 and renamed in 1988 in memory of Cecil A. Brownlow, the FSF editor of publications from 1981 until shortly before his death in 1988.

The award recognizes significant contributions by journalists to aviation safety awareness. Candidates may be individuals, publications or organizations. Nominations may be for long-term achievement or for outstanding articles, books or works in electronic media published or broadcast between July 1, 2007 and June 30, 2008.

The nominating deadline is July 31, 2008.

For complete award criteria, information about past recipients and online nomination forms, please visit the FSF Web site <www.flightsafety.org/awards.html>.