Celebrating

Excellence in Aviation Safety

emarkable talents of communication, persuasion and forging agreement set apart all the award recipients during the Joint Meeting of the Flight Safety Foundation 61st annual International Air Safety Seminar (IASS), International Federation of Airworthiness (IFA) 38th International Conference and International Air Transport Association (IATA) in Honolulu.

Capt. Bertrand de Courville, director of flight safety, Air France, accepted The Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award for distinguished management of the airline's safety programs — including its confidential event reporting, crew resource management training, flight data monitoring analysis and safety management system implementation — and for contributions at the international level. While leading or participating in organizations such as the IATA Safety Group, IATA Accident Classification Task Force, European Runway Incursion Prevention Program and various Eurocontrol safety initiatives, he championed proactive safety awareness and analytical methods to increase the visibility of accident precursors and to enable in-depth defenses against human error.

From left, FSF Chairman
Amb. Edward W.
Stimpson, de Courville
and FSF President and
CEO William R. Voss;
Chip Geisthardt of IHS
Aviation Information,
Learmount and
Stimpson; and Stimpson,
O'Brien and Steve M.
Atkins of The Boeing Co.







David Learmount of Flight Group received the FSF Cecil A. Brownlow Publication Award for his comprehensive range of insightful articles in *Flight International*, mastery of aviation operations issues and outstanding worldwide perspective on safety, which have been a model for journalists reporting on safety threats and the aviation industry's drive to reduce them. By broadening understanding of safety trends as a speaker and writer, reaching people inside and outside the industry, he also helped to set the stage for mitigating accident causal factors.

John E. O'Brien, retired director, engineering and air safety, Air Line Pilots Association, International (ALPA), received the Flight Safety Foundation-Boeing Aviation Safety Lifetime Achievement Award for advisory committee/study group leadership and consensus building behind the scenes of many advances in accident and incident investigation, accident prevention, pilot training, flight operational quality assurance programs and standard operating procedures. As a member of the FSF International Advisory Committee, he was instrumental in identifying controlled flight into terrain and approach and landing accidents as urgent safety issues and in mitigating related risks through analytical working groups, workshops, training aids, tool kits and awareness programs.

Evgeny Nikolaevich Lobachev, adviser to the Russian Federation minister of transport, was

named a recipient of the FSF President's Citation for developing the Russian Air Code, Russian and international safety procedures and oversight, accident investigation and improvements to the Universal Safety Oversight Audit Program of the International Civil Aviation Organization. In 2007, he oversaw drafting of the State Civil Aviation Safety Program of the Russian Federation and began serving as secretary to the interagency aviation safety commission that implements the program.

Nicholas A. Sabatini, associate administrator for aviation safety of the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration, received the FSF President's Citation for leadership in creating synergy by encouraging broad-based, cooperative initiatives involving the aviation community and government through programs such as the aviation safety information analysis and sharing program, maintenance line operation safety audits, a call to action for reduction of runway incursion risks, voluntary reporting programs and safety management systems.

Lt. Col. James MacGillavry and Lt. Col. Rik van Zwol, members of the Royal Netherlands Air Force, received the IFA Whittle Safety Award for significant contributions to military aviation safety, including the formation of the Military Aviation Authority in the Netherlands and the introduction of a new regulatory framework based on a total aviation safety concept.

From left, Voss and Sabatini; and van Zwol, MacGillavry and IFA presenter Joe Sutter.





os: Wayne Rosenkrans