Do you know a person or organization that deserves to be publicly honored for their contributions to aviation safety?



The Flight Safety Foundation (FSF) annual safety awards program recognizes individual achievements and group achievements in aviation safety, as well as heroism by civil aircraft crewmembers or ground personnel. Recipients of these prestigious international awards are selected by independent boards from candidates nominated by aviation professionals and organizations worldwide.

Submit your nominations via our Web site for the awards, shown in the list below, that will be presented at this year's IASS in Seoul, Korea. For more information about the awards go to http://www. flightsafety.org/awards.html.

## Admiral Luis De Florez Flight Safety Award

Recognizing outstanding individual contributions to aviation safety through basic design, device or practice, the award is made possible by a grant from Admiral Luis de Florez, a former president of the Flight Safety Foundation, and consists of a citation and an honorarium.

#### **Airport Safety Award**

This award recognizes advances in ramp environment safety through innovation and implementation of new methods, practices or policies.

# Aviation Week & Space Technology Distinguished Service Award

Created in cooperation with Aviation Week & Space Technology magazine, this award recognizes individuals and organizations responsible for major advances in aviation safety.

## Flight Safety Foundation–Boeing Aviation Safety Lifetime Achievement Award

Established by the Foundation and The Boeing Company, the Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual for a lifetime commitment to aviation safety. The award consists of a citation and a Waterford crystal trophy on display at the Museum of Flight, Seattle, Washington. The recipient receives a Waterford crystal memento of the award.

# Flight Safety Foundation Cecil A. Brownlow Publication Award

The Brownlow Award recognizes journalists' significant contributions to aviation safety awareness. Candidates for the award may be individuals, publications or organizations. Nominees should write and report accurately and objectively about commercial aviation safety or business aviation safety. Nominations may be for long-term achievement or for outstanding articles, books or works in electronic media, published or broadcast between July 1, 2006 and June 30, 2007. The recipient will receive US\$1,000; a framed, handlettered citation; and transportation to the FSF International Air Safety Seminar and joint meeting with the International Federation of Airworthiness and International Air Transport Association.

## Flight Safety Foundation Heroism Award

Sponsored by Kidde Aerospace, the Heroism Award recognizes civil aircraft crewmembers or ground personnel whose heroic actions exceeded the requirements of their jobs and, as a result, saved lives or property. Selection of award recipients is determined by the degree of personal risk involved in the heroic act; the nature of the courage, perseverance and other personal characteristics that were displayed; and the degree to which the heroism exceeded normal levels of duty. The award includes a miniature replica of the Graviner Sword, US\$1,000 and a framed, hand-lettered citation.

# Honeywell *Bendix Trophy* for Aviation Safety

Revived by Honeywell in 1988 to recognize contributions to aerospace safety, this award is given to individuals or organizations to honor improvements to aerospace safety through advances in equipment or technology. Recipients receive a replica of the original Bendix Trophy.

The Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award Recognizing notable achievement in the field of aviation safety — civil or military — in method, design, invention, study or other improvement, the Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award consists of a gold medallion, certificate and honorarium.

## **Richard Teller Crane Founder's Award**

This award recognizes sustained corporate leadership contributing to aviation safety and aviation safety programs.